XFL announces head coaches for 2023

There have already been a number of media reports that Reggie Barlow will be the head coach of San Antonio’s XFL team for the 2023 season.

This coming even before an official announcement that San Antonio has an XFL team.

Today, the league announced its list of head coaches for next year and it includes some high profile names.

Wade Phillips is a former NFL head coach and a highly regarded defensive coach. He is the son of Houston Oilers coaching legend Bum Phillips.

Bob Stoops won 190 games at Oklahoma including an undefeated season and national championship in 2000.

Rod Woodson is an NFL Hall of Fame defensive back. He played for 17 season and was named to 11 Pro Bowls. He had 71 career interceptions and returned 12 for touchdowns.

Hines Ward is the Pittsburgh Steelers’ all-team leader in catches with 1,000, yards with 12,083 and receiving touchdowns with 85. He was the most valuable player in Super Bowl XL when the Steelers beat the Seattle Seahawks.

Terrell Buckley will be head coach of the XFL Orlando franchise, according to a Twitter report by Matt Zenitz (@on3sports). Buckley was an NFL defensive back for 14 seasons and has been a college assistant coach.

Jim Haslett coached in the NFL from 1996 to 2014. He was the head coach of the New Orleans Saints for six seasons.

Anthony Becht played in 11 NFL seasons as a tight end, mostly with the New York Jets and Tampa Bay Buccaneers. Becht has worked in TV and radio as an analyst covering college football and the NFL.

Barlow had a 34-16 record as head coach at Virginia State before joining the XFL. Barlow is a former NFL receiver and returner.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.